Google Translate
Google Search
Home Page

Linacre Primary School

Learning   Progress   Success

Nursery - Carle Class

Early Years Curriculum Intent Statement:

At Linacre Primary we view the Early Years as a basis for all future learning. We seek to develop each child’s potential through a broad and balanced curriculum in a secure, caring and creative environment. In Nursery and Reception classes, our Early Years Curriculum is based on the revised Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum and is planned to lead smoothly into the National Curriculum at KS1 in a way in which is relevant and meaningful to all children. All children learn through play with a combination of child-initiated and teacher-led learning opportunities both indoors and in our outdoor area. 


There are seven areas of learning - 3 Prime areas and 4 Specific areas:


Three Prime areas of learning:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Communication and Language
Physical Development


Four Specific areas of learning:

Understanding the World
Expressive Art and Design


For each area of learning there is a set of developmental stages and early learning outcomes which describe what each child is expected to be learning at each stage. Children are observed during play in order to assess their stage of development and in order to plan for the next steps in their learning.


More information about the Early Years Curriculum, including key documentation, can be found at the bottom of the page.